Painting in Antarctica

The video above captures highlights and the painting process from voyages along the Antarctic Peninsula this past November and December 2011. Early in the season we saw incredible sunsets and unusual amounts of ice in the channels. Recent paintings are now posted on the website and many new studio works are in the concept stage. Having so much amazing reference and ideas is a wonderful problem to have!

"Iceberg n.10"

"Iceberg #10", 15in x 22in watercolour

In the Antarctic spring it is exciting to witness the energy of creatures breaking trails in the fresh snow returning to nest or  to feed below the surface. They seem so at home among the  hidden turquoise ice caves, following the ancient rhythms and echoes of the ocean. Often it seems the weather etches the shapes of mythical beings on the icebergs. Every block of ice has such a story to tell as it  contains  the  layers of the past as well is being  worn by the  warming currents of today.

"Iceberg n.11"

"Iceberg #11"

About David McEown

Artist, Landscape Painter, Art instructor, Musician
This entry was posted in Antarctica, Art Workshops, Elephant Island, en plein air, Landscape painting, Peninsula, watercolor, Watercolour and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Painting in Antarctica

  1. Very inspiring scenery! The views of the sunsets are especially wonderful and the shapes of the icebergs are incredible. How do you keep your hands warm enough when you paint outdoors? When I do plein air winter paintings here in Colorado (and on my painting trip last year to Patagonia), I have trouble keeping my fingers warm even though I wear gloves.

  2. David McEown says:

    Thanks david, yes keeping hands warm is important. I have lots of ayers on, so i am almost to hot and heat is released through hands, but i think its often the positionof how i paint, often i hold my brush lower to lower paint surface so that blood rushes down and warms hands, if hold brush up high, finger tips freeze faster due to circulation loss. So inner core heat as well as relaxed good circulation is key. Also a hand warmer in fingerless mit can work . I find my hands get coldest when hold a camera up to my eye.

  3. Lesley Piper says:

    Wow. Thanks for your blog. I just returned from an Antarctic trip with Oceanwide Expeditions and am still overwhelmed and processing it all. One of the things I loved was the colours of the ice and reflections which, as a novice watercolour artist, I have been struggling to create! I did some sketching out there but no painting – I am not made of yr steen stuff being a tropical person.mGreat to see your approach anyway: it’s given me some ideas. Thanks again for sharing. LBP.

Leave a Reply

